Classroom Routines – Morning Routine

I just finished up a practical placement in a grade 1/2 class in a Primary school. This was my first placement that included a ‘block’ of days and allowed me to observe some strong morning routines in the classroom environment. As I develop my teaching philosophy through training (I’m doing a Bachelor of Primary Education at the University of Canberra), I’m slowly starting to pick up on those things I might want to do when I begin teaching.

The Morning Routine

The morning routine for the class I had for practical placement consisted of the following:

  • Students hang their bags on hooks outside the classroom and line up sitting down outside;
  • Teacher opens the door and greats the students. Students are reminded to bring in water bottles, hats, lunchboxes, notes. On this, water bottles are placed on students desks; hats and lunchboxes are placed in tot trays at the back of the room and notes are given to the teacher;
  • Students sit on floor at front of the room;
  • Role is marked. The process used is ‘Good Morning [Student First Name]’, with the student replying ‘Good Morning Mr/Mrs [Teacher Last Name]’;
  • After the roll is marked, students who have the job of taking down lunch notes to canteen do this;
  • Teacher takes class through the day and date, students are given the opportunity to find the relevant day or date from the laminated options.
  • Start of first lesson…

So, I naturally got thinking about how I might change this up a bit to suite my style of teaching, luckily I got a chance to try some of these out during my placement. My thoughts were:

  • Have a bit of fun marking the role (I actually got this ideas from my 8 year old daughter whose teacher does some of these). Some things I tried:
    • Call names out in different ‘orders’ (e.g., bottom-to-top or all girls then all boys). Ask student’s to try and figure out what order you used;
    • Call names quickly – time with stopwatch and see if you can beat the record over the week; and
    • Change the ‘call-answer’ process. Examples are:
      • Call students by surnames (Master X or Miss Y); or
      • Ask a question that requires a short answer and have students call out the answer rather then ‘here’ (e.g., What is your favourite Pokemon? then Teacher: Billy, Billy: Pikachu).
  • Take the students through the schedule for the day, this was placed on the board in the classroom and but was referenced by the teacher. I think this would help with students feeling they have a more structured day.

That’s all I have for now, do you have any other suggestions for a morning routine?

Leave a Reply

